It’s great to play in America again!

Nick Heyward at the Microsoft Theater, LA, 27 Jan 2018. Photo by Matthew Guerra.

Thanks to K-EARTH 101, Honda Center, Microsoft Theater, Richard Blade, The Boss Booking Agency, the bands and everyone who came to the Anaheim and LA shows this weekend. We’ll be announcing solo dates in LA later this year, so watch this space!

Nick’s fantastic band was: Gabriel Isaac, guitar; Claire Finley, bass; Nick Gomez, sax; Chris Lawrence, trumpet; Brad Dutz, percussion; Josh Thompson, drums

Photos: Matthew Guerra. Instagram @MatthewGuerraPhoto, Twitter @MGuerraPhoto

‘From Monday to Sunday’ is 24 years old today

From Monday To Sunday

Nick Heyward’s classic power pop album From Monday to Sunday was released on this day in 1993 by Epic Records.

The lead single ‘Kite’ reached No. 4 in Billboard’s Hot Modern Tracks chart (aka the US college radio chart) thanks to the support of DJs like Rodney Bingenheimer from KROQ in Los Angeles. Blogger Jim Kee reckons it’s “like a 90’s Penny Lane”. We won’t argue with that.

Looking through reviews of the album online led us to Amazon’s user reviews and they really are something to behold. Here are a few snippets:

“I could kick myself for missing this one: it’s an album that radiates with sheer pop goodness… Don’t hold Nick’s sweater-wearing past against him. This is first-class pop music.” Donald E. Gilliland

“Why isn’t this album on the top 10 of any “Best albums of all time” lists. This record is brilliant beyond words. It deserves more than five stars. I can’t explain this record exactly but I would say this would be the sound version to your Idea of the best day you ever had. Beautiful just like rainy days.” Amazon Customer

“A pop masterpiece all the way through. It will make you believe in music again.” Michael Paulsen

This performance of ‘Kite’ from The Late Show with Conan O’Brien has Phil Taylor on bass (recently seen co-producing tracks on Nick’s latest, Woodland Echoes), Anthony Clark on keyboards (also contributed to Woodland Echoes), Graham Ward on drums, Donald Skinner on guitar, and from Conan O’Brien’s house band, Jimmy Vivino on mandolin.

Perfect Sunday Sun videos

The videos for the second single from Woodland Echoes, Perfect Sunday Sun, are now live.

The official video concept and execution by Steve Kemsley of Sassy Films. Filmed on super 8 in and around Hampstead, London.

The lyrics video was filmed on an iPhone 6s and edited in FCPX by Nick and Gladsome Hawk.

Nick Heyward’s ‘Tracks of My Years’ with Ken Bruce on BBC Radio 2

All this week listen to Nick Heyward’s ‘Tracks of My Years’ on BBC Radio 2 with Ken Bruce from 9.30am each weekday. Hear the stories behind these 10 songs that have soundtracked his years.

For those who may have missed this. The tracks Nick chose were:

  1. The Four Seasons – Silver Star
  2. The Beatles – Penny Lane
  3. Barbra Streisand – Evergreen
  4. The Bellamy Brothers – Let Your Love Flow
  5. The Isley Brothers – The Highways of My Life
  6. Queen – Seven Seas of Rhye
  7. Squeeze – Up the Junction
  8. The Pioneers – Let Your Yeah Be Yeah
  9. The Damned – New Rose
  10. Status Quo – Down Down

  1. Love Is the Key by the Sea Nick Heyward Buy on iTunes 04:22
  2. Mountaintop Nick Heyward Buy on iTunes 3:27
  3. The Stars Nick Heyward Buy on iTunes 03:45
  4. Beautiful Morning Nick Heyward 04:28
  5. Who? Nick Heyward Buy on iTunes 03:10
  6. Forest of Love Nick Heyward Buy on iTunes 03:15
  7. Baby Blue Sky Nick Heyward Buy on iTunes 3:10
  8. I Can See Her Nick Heyward Buy on iTunes 03:09
  9. Perfect Sunday Sun Nick Heyward Buy on iTunes 03:17
  10. New Beginning Nick Heyward Buy on iTunes 03:30
  11. I Got a Lot Nick Heyward Buy on iTunes 03:31
  12. For Always Nick Heyward Buy on iTunes 02:56